Sizwe Andrews: HipHop Emcee, Educator, Father

Sizwe

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Sizwe: No, I am not a Bay Area Native but I took to the soil well..I really feel like my life began to flourish when I moved to Oakland. I moved out this way about 14 years ago via Southern California. I was born in Santa Ana, Ca but lived all over So. Cal from the IE to Inglewood.


Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on?
Sizwe: In all honesty I feel as if this path had been chosen for me by the Most High. My mother is a phenomenal High School teacher and my father is an amazing Jazz Musician. My household was always filled with the smell of soul food, soul music, and vibrant energy. Weather it was my Mother banging out to Aretha Franklin on Sunday Mornings or my Pops unwinding to Sun Ra, The music / good music has always been apart of my life. My older Brothers introduced me to Hip Hop and from that point it was all I saw and was inspired by for years. It was around 1995 when I linked up with my bredren, Jern Eye. In due time InI developed a brotherhood and love for the music that would create the vision and foundation for our group Lunar Heights. From various mixtapes, collabos, and solo projects, the Heightsmen catalog is definitely bigger than I ever would have anticipated back in 96. I just give thanx for the opportunities that have been provided for InI.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Sizwe: Inspiration has definitely taken different forms throughout my life. At this point I would simply say family. The work I do with the youth is also inspirational and adds fuel to the pen.


Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased?
Sizwe: My father and older brothers had so much vinyl that I didn’t have purchase wax until later in life. Was definitely crate digging heavy from ages 14 – 19, lookin for that “perfect sample”…My first tape was Eazy E’s “Eazy Duz It”. Does that Count? lol


Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote?
Sizwe: Just Gratitude for all the Love I have received throughout the years…Hopefully I have been able to be a reflection of all that you have given……

Close Yours eyes to truly see…Peace!

One thought on “Sizwe Andrews: HipHop Emcee, Educator, Father

Leave a Reply

