Kufu: Muralist, Educator

Kufu

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Kufu: I have lived in the east bay: Alameda and Oakland, since 1988. I moved here in middle school from Pittsburgh Pennsylvania. My father and mothers families are from Pitts, Philly, NYC, and DC.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Kufu: I started my creative journey as a very young child, due to having an older brother who was into Hip Hop since its birth. The only thing that I could hold onto once I knew I was moving to Cali was Hip Hop culture. On the east coast, little kids were always prone to grow up a bit faster and being able to witness the pioneering eras of various elements in Hip Hop where I lived and traveled, I was able to hone in on skill sets from all elements. Doing every element and with skill meant you were a real BGirl or bboy. Definitions have changed over time for some but the original article still prevails.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Kufu: I find my inspiration from just that, originality and authenticity within various cultures and their aesthetic nuances. From the music, food, clothing, antiquity, cosmologies, dance, and language to the physical environments surrounding people of color, all of these are my core influences. Being in tune with the frequencies of other cultures and the rhythms involved in their aesthetics gives me many ideas for letter structures, fill in techniques and the list goes on.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Kufu: The family I come from fortunately supported my hip hop habit and purchased many of the albums and cassettes in the early years but even as a young bad ass kid, I boosted much of my music to be honest. We called it racking and the first time I can recall having to buy vinyl we were on a road trip and UTFO had their first twelve inch out. I begged for it but everyone fronted. I asked for loot to get an action figure but said fuck that and bought the album, big Bruh racked it from me shortly there after. I remember buying Ultramagnetics first twelve inch and my brother used it for doubles smdh.


Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote?
Kufu: These memories are only a few of many that still drive every aspect of my creativity as a writer and educator. I told my family I wanted to do hip hop for a living when I was a child, now I live that dream out daily. Passing it on to the youth the same way it was given to me. Salute, Kufy X North Star Zulu Nation. Grown From Concrete Crew. The Magnificent Team.

Leave a Reply

