Dudley Flores: Dancer, Teacher

Dudley

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Dudley: I am a Bay Area Native. Born and raised in San Francisco!


Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on?
Dudley: I dabbled a little in dance through high school musical theater and a few dance recitals here and there. I stopped dancing when I started college (15 units as a biology major while working full time with American Airlines passenger services took up all my time.) I found a Rhythm & Motion class when I was 19 years old and the class helped me fall back in love with movement, music, being inside my body, being around like-minded people. From there I explored different dance forms and continue on my path today.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Dudley: Mostly though life experiences – mine and others.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Dudley: I never purchased any vinyl. (I was a cassette kid when I had money to buy anything.) But, I do remember listening to “Purple Rain” on vinyl. Also, my older brother and his friends were DJs and I remember hearing them “scratch” and work their magic at the turntable. It was amazing!


Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote?
Dudley:

“When you grow up, you tend to get told that the world is the way it is and your life is just to live your life and try not to bash into the walls too much…that’s a very limited life. Life can be much broader once you discover one simple fact—everything around you that you call life was made up by people that were no smarter than you. Shake off this erroneous notion that life is there and you’re just going to live in it versus make your mark upon it. Once you learn that, you will never be the same again. Don’t just live a life; build one.” – Steve Jobs

Leave a Reply

