Jamela Asha: Performer

Jamela


Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay?
Jamela: Yes. Born and raised in San Francisco.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Jamela: I started on my creative path when the San Francisco Ballet gave me a full scholarship at the age of seven. This I enjoyed for seven years, until I decided I wanted to explore other artistic avenues. That led me to the vocal department in my middle school (Everett, holla!) And then to Wajumbe, who took me to dance in Nigeria, while I attended the Ruth Asawa San Francisco School of the Arts for voice and dance.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Jamela: I find my inspiration, mostly, from the lessons I’ve retained from various teachers/events in my life. To name a few:

My Mom and Dad who taught me the importance of play.

My experience with the Ballet, that taught me self discipline is one of the most important traits you can possess.

Malonga Casquelourd, who didn’t care if I got mad when he picked on me in class. As long as I continued to go above and beyond what I thought I could do, that was all that mattered.

These inspirational teachers/events are really just to name a few.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Jamela: I’ve yet to purchase a piece of vinyl. Lol!! Go figure.However, the first piece of music I purchased was a new release on cassette tape of Kool Moe Dee’s, How Ya Like Me Now. Lol!!!

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote?
Jamela: A modest quote: Never stop. Haters are just doing their job. Keep. Going.

Leave a Reply

