Mini Interview with Lillian Castro, creative spirit

LBoogie

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? LBoogie: Oakland Native.. Born at Highland Hospital..

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? LBoogie: Been a creative soul forever.. We listened to everything in my household growing up: Al Green, The Supremes, Crosby Stills and Nash, Creedence Clearwater, Marvin, all of the old school Salsa greats. I always kept a journal since I was about 9 years old. I love to decorate and create beautiful spaces.. My mother would come home after work when I was about 11 or 12 and the whole living room would be rearranged and she would keep it because it was usually better than before.. I love beautiful spaces.I love dancing and the arts period..

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? LBoogie: I find my inspiration when I am sometimes emotionally at a loss for words.. I have to write, draw or do something creative because sometimes the spoken word is just inefficient for me but it’s still my therapy. I also am at my best spiritually when I am at any body of water.. an ocean or the river. Oshun. Inspiration is all around us, so I always keep my journal in my purse. .

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased?LBoogie: First piece of vinyl purchased- Michael Jackson’s Off The Wall, purchased at T Wauzi’s at the Eastmont Mall.. the favorite hang out spot for young teens in the 80’s.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? LBoogie: A Warrior reads the messages in many of the wo/men she meets. Never taken in by appearances, she makes it a point to remain silent when people try to impress her. She uses these occasions to correct herself of her own faults. For others make excellent mirrors.. – Paulo Coehlo

Leave a Reply

