Fury: Bboy, Graff Writer

FuryOne

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Fury: I have been in San Francisco since I was two months old. Have never known anything else so I would like to say “yes”. It’s a matter of opinion I guess.. 45 years.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Fury: I started “street dancing” in 1980. Learned to “strut”/ pop at boys club summer camp for inner city youth. I have always drawn but did not have an appreciation or understanding of graffiti until the early 80s. A short series of events opened my eyes. I was always drawn to placasos and being the only white kid on the block, I acclimated to my surroundings. I then met a skater named Jason that had a tag up on every 38 Geary bus line at the time. I asked him why he did it and he said “so everyone knows I was here”. Eyes opened. I started really tagging my placa “joker” wherever I could..1981-2? Then I saw a show on TV.. a showtime program called “whats up America”. They did an episode of the NY downtown meets uptown gallery scene. The whole Fab 5 Freddy meets Blondie meets Krash, meets Andy Warhol thing. It blew my mind. Focus was on graffiti, 1983. It was at this point I slowed down on dance practice and started bombing. At least tagging my ass off. Did my first real piece in probably 1983. It was at this time that I also handed one of my dance partners his first spray can, helping to create the internationally recognized monster known as “Crayone”. He’s self made. I just gave him the tools and showed him the way.


Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration?
Fury: Inspiration is tough these days. I’m a working husband and father of two. I’m pretty jaded. I am inspired by my brothers in the street that do it right. That do it with style and integrity. I’m old skool, believe in rules and respect earned. Knowledge of what you are emulating is also a must. Disregard for the history of your craft is the toyest mistake u can make in this game.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Fury: First vinyl? SUPERRHYMES by Jimmy Spicer… 1980. This was a huge inspiration for me. Being a Zulu I had the pleasure of seeing him do it live at the 38th anniversary of the UZN in NY. Definitely a bucket list experience.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Fury: A joke? My all time favorite and probably not appropriate is “what’s the difference between pussy and parsley? Nobody eats parsley!” Skuse me. Lol.
I try to live by “patience is a virtue. It’ll be greater later”. Also a big fan of “smile now, cry later” , which i have tailored to be “live now, die later”. Words to live by cause to the best of my knowledge, we only go around once. Enjoy it!

One thought on “Fury: Bboy, Graff Writer

Leave a Reply

