Dana Kawano: Costumer, Artist, Visionary

Dana

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Dana: No, but I’ve been living here for over 35 years.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Dana: I started on the creative path about 18 years ago. I began my career in Tech and after 14 years made a major shift to the arts. The creative path lead me to dance and the exploration of every medium of fine art that I could get my hands on. Since then almost every waking hour has been spent dancing, painting, sculpting, drawing, photographing….etc. For the past 3 years, Fashion and Costume Design has become an absolute obsession. I have been told that the costumes I design should more appropriately be referred to as “Ritual Wear”. Adorned in the Ritual Wear, dancers conjure the spirits…creating an aura and messaging that can only be conveyed as “magical”. It’s wicked hot!


Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration?
Dana: Inspiration comes to me through so many channels it is not possible to name them all…haha…my mind is like a theme park. Areas that I continue to return to includes the human experience, culture, the spirit, communing with the divine and the abstract integration of those elements.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Dana: Michael Jackson…I Want You Back…I stalked him on Tiger Beat magazine and Ed Sullivan….we grew up together:-)

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Dana: Never underestimate the power of dreaming….they can actually come true….dream positive…

Leave a Reply

