Leslie Lopez: Muralist, Educator, Mami

Leslie DImeEstria Graff Battle by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Dime: Yes, I was born and raised in East Oakland. My dad came out here in the late 70s from La Piedad, Michoacan.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Dime: As a child I was always passionate about art, from melting crayons to making paint, to now spray painting on any surface I call my canvas. But, at the age of 10 I feel in love with Letters, tagging, graffiti.. attempting to write my name with arrows on loose sheets of lined paper from my school notebook.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Dime: I find inspiration in my neighborhood and community.. The pain and struggle to live and stay alive, the beauty of my traditions and culture, the resistance and power of the people.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Dime: my generation was after the vinyl.. but besides tape recording music from the radio and listening to my families rancheras and bandas, as a kid I remember having the Selena CD and then as a early teen 3x Krazy Stacking Chips.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Dime: “Culture is an indispensable weapon in the freedom struggle” -Malcolm X

Leave a Reply

