Heaven Mousalem: Dancer, Singer, Percussionist

10933931_10154404078762588_2425826007719763431_n

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Heaven: I’ve lived in the bay area for 7 years. I had been living in Hawai’i and came to the bay to take dance classes during the summer. I got hooked! There were so many amazing teachers and classes, I just had to stay, although I still miss the islands.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Heaven:  I started singing as soon as I could talk. Neighbors and friends would come visit and I would perform pop songs such as “Like a Virgin” and “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun”. I started dancing young as well, but didn’t discover Bellydance until I was in my twenties. I had been studying many forms if dance and decided if was time to explore my own cultural roots through dance. Now Bellydance is the only style I do! Guess I’m hooked!

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Heaven: My inspiration comes from all over. In dance I’m very inspired by ballroom and contemporary dancers. My teacher Shabnam incorporates a lot of ballet technique in our style of modern Bellydance. I love to watch retro videos of classical Egyptian dancers like Samia Gamal and Suheir Zaki.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Heaven: I’ve never bought a vinyl record, but the first cassette I ever bought was Mariah Carey’s “Vision of Love”. I still love her!

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Heaven: My grandma, who is my biggest fan, always tells me to have fun when I perform. I try to always remember this and share the joy of dance and music in all I do. As artists we get to make the world more beautiful with our art!

Leave a Reply

