Viviana Rennella: Global Activist, Photographer

132126_483893318258_1017234_o

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Vivi: No, I was born in Argentina and came to the US when I was 10 years old. But the Bay has been my longest lasting home, for the past 21 years. It reminds me of my homeland in many ways.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Vivi: I have always done something creative or another since I was a kid. But photography has been my love since high school. My latest project began with a magazine ad I cut out and taped to my fridge over a year ago as inspiration. This year I set myself to actually making it happen and the first takes were stunning! I have been super creative since then with this new series and I have been invited to exhibit it next February.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Vivi: I have journeyed the past 20 years with photography as both my logbook and compass point. Along the way, I documented my work with women and migrants around the world. I would also capture details in nature when I was drawn to a particular shape, color, texture or pattern. They are like swatches for a design project.

Latest series: Frozen Flowers Flowers are a meditation for me. Their shape and color bring me to my center when I need grounding. In frozen flowers I discovered infinite possibilities in the interplay of form, texture, tonal gradations and quality of light. This series represents the universes that unfold when I tease abstract details from the delicate essence of the flower in its casing of ice.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Vivi: I still have some gems I got as a kid in Argentina. But the first one I actually bought on my own must have been U2’s Joshua Tree or Lionel Richie’s All Night Long. I remember being so excited to hear for the first time anything resembling latin beats on the airwaves in Ohio in the mid 80’s!

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Vivi: thank you mama! peace and love 

Leave a Reply

