Paris King: Musician

ParisLake Merritt by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Paris: Yes, I am a native.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Paris: 35 years ago, when I was 3 years old, my parents got a piano and my grandmother got an electric organ. I began formal piano lessons at age 5, in the first grade.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Paris: Scott Joplin first, later Prince, Hendrix, Aretha, Stevie… and then I turned 14. I was into comic books, and Rasputin Used Records was on Telegraph between Comics and Comix and Blondie’s pizza. The first record I got was Lucille by BB King.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Paris: I think it was the first Miami Sound Machine record, I liked “The Conga”. Didn’t yet know what salsa was, but I felt it. I remember Tears For Fears album with Shout on it was hot in 4th grade. I also remember copping Musique Non Stop by Kraftwerk, and the first Fine Young Cannibals record, with “Johnny Come Home” on it. The revelatory life-changer was in 7th grade, when I was gifted a bootleg cassette of Sign Of The Times, which had The Ballad Of Dorothy Parker on it… and came with a concert movie. Plus… I discovered the concept of playing all the instruments and writing yourself. That was it. I was sold.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Paris: Once it has rules, it’s no longer art.

http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/parisking

http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/pariskingband

http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/khalilanthony

http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/xroads

One thought on “Paris King: Musician

Leave a Reply

