Michael Orange: Director at Matatu Festival

10407818_10153552926988626_1070252166086564932_n

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Michael: I’ve lived in the bay for eleven years and grew up as one I the nomadic sort. I’ve called North Carolina my home, but also lived in Milwaukee, Baltimore/DC, Detroit, and Chicago. I’ve lived in the bay just about as long as NC and have family who settled here during the Great Migration, so it’s officially become home.

We lived in a huge subdivision with hundreds of homes growing up in NC, and were one of 17 families of African descent in the neighborhood.

My folks would regularly host dinners and parties for all the families to connect. Since, I’ve learned of my grandfather’s similar work to bring distinguished thinkers and musicians such as Baldwin and The Duke to the Lincoln U campus.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Michael: This creative path is the one set before me – before me.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Michael: I’m so enamoured with people! I simply love to meet – PEOPLE!! It’s ruff moving so much as. Kid, then not fitting in with too many of them anywhere you go, and so you become to learn to understand them very well. That is the gift. Some learn language well. Some sports. Painting. I live people and the way groups of people move with respect to one another.

The twist is that I’m incredibly private and don’t care for people to know me so much, on the contrary.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Michael: Haha – my first piece of vinyl was We Are The World! Saturday mornings we’re reserved to for pops, James Earl Orange, to play the vinyl and to assert his prowess as the greatest breakfast chef that ever lived.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Michael: We are the ones..

www.facebook.com/toptensocial

Leave a Reply

