D. Scot Miller: Writer, Educator

553833_10152009914045519_909527206_n

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? D. Scot: I’m not a Bay Area Native, though I’ve lived here for nearly 20 years. Before that, I lived primarily in West Virginia, with stints in LA: Pasadena, Altadena, Pomona, Alabama, GA, and Washington D.C.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? D.Scot: I started writing professionally when I was 13 years old. I published a poem in the local paper and won a few poetry contests three years later. I got my first NEA grant about two years after that. I’ve been a writer/artist for as long as I can remember.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? D.Scot: I find inspiration everywhere! It’s what I love most about living, all of the experiences, the emotions, the joy and pain; it can be transformed into art and artistic practice, or art therapy. I like shadows too…

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? D.Scot: Dayum. For the Love of Money by the O’Jays (a 45!) when I was around 5 or 6 in a record shop in DC. I had choice between that or a hot-fudge sundae from the Woolworths.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? D.Scot: Amor Il Fate’, love your fate. http://dscotmiller.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

