Airial Clark: Sex Positive Parent, Educator

10884938_10103834218502193_1385511846_n

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Airial: I’m originally from Sacramento, and have lived in the Bay for 7 years.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Airial: Three years ago I decided to focus my writing on sex, sexuality, parenting and societal norms. I’m in the second year of my MA in Sexuality Studies at SF State. I’ve always been a writer, and I’ve always been an advocate for healthy and safe explorations in sexuality, it just wasn’t until I turned 30 and my sons’ hit the tweens that I combined them.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Airial: From other parents mostly. I spend a lot of time listening for what folks are afraid to say to their children. I see how easy it is for us to transfer our own anxieties to our kids. I want everyone to be protected, educated and supported in their sexual development, so that starts with parents being empowered in their role as the primary sex educator in their child’s life.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Airial: I bought two albums at Tower records for my 7th birthday: Tina Turner’s Private Dancer and Cyndi Lauper’s She’s So Unusual.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Airial: “The strict dichotomies of mind and body, soul and matter, free will and nature – polarities so precious to Western philosophy and theology—have been exposed as conveniences for the repression of desire and the slander of the body.” –Rex Weil

http://airial.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

