Jern Eye: HipHop MC, 1/3 of Lunar Heights

Jern Eyephoto by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Jern: I grew up in L.A., but have lived in Oakland since November 99′. It’s definitely become my home, and I’ve been blessed that folks in the town have accepted me as one of it’s own. I can foresee spending the rest of my life here, less I move to some place cool like Paris or Tokyo.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Jern: I started rapping in 91′ but didn’t take it serious until High School. Then in my senior year in 96′ I met Sizwe, whom I started Lunar Heights with. He was a big reason I made my move to Oakland in 99′. During that time there was a huge creative movement between us, a few painters, poets, and this Hip-Hop band named Mission: who are now known as Crown City Rockers. Making rap songs with real musicians really helped with developing my musicality, and being efficient in the studio.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Jern: Inspiration changes all the time. I’d like to think my music reflects where I am in life, mentally, physically, and spiritually. I haven’t had much output in the last few years since my 09′ release “Vision”, but I’ve been really enjoying doing other things like riding and racing my bicycle, writing short poems, cooking, and hiking. I’ve found the more detached I am from music, the more I have to offer when it comes down to creating it. I’m not too worried about having high output like most artists are, because I’m happy with the quality of songs I’m writing at this time.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Jern: The very first Hip Hop record I purchased on my own was RUN D.M.C. “Raising Hell”. I still have that too. Prior to that there were a few records that were handed down to me from older DJ friends, and eventually started digging on my own.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Jern: To everyone who’s supported my music, whether it was Lunar Heights or solo shit, thank you! I’ve met and worked with some amazing people, and have done some pretty cool shit up to this point, so I’m grateful to the Universe for it. I could only strive to be the best me, and hope folks connect with that frequency. Forward ever.

www.twitter.com/jerneye
http://bmxboyz.tumblr.com/
http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/vision/id332417227

Leave a Reply

