Cece Carpio: Muralist for Social Justice

10596137_10204443968598562_664685460_n

photo by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Cece: The Bay Area is a home for me. It’s the city where I have stayed the longest living here in the US. Having live in many different places, the Bay Area has been a fundamental place of growth and community. It’s been a place where I land and fly all at the same time.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Cece: I have always drawn, and I have always imagine worlds of lines and colors. I didn’t decide to pursue the arts professionally until 2004. Before then, I was an organizer, an educator, even thought of law as a possible profession. But now, I know I can do those simultaneously, I am still an educator and still actively engaged in social justice and community empowerment work in many communities I am part of. I believe that those roles are inevitably connected, and we all need to be artist in order to imagine the world we want to change so that we can create it.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Cece: My inspirations comes from our peoples struggling everyday for a more dignified existence. It is the beauty of struggle, resilience and victories that inspires me and my work.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Cece: The first vinyl that I was able to buy and afford was: Acey Alone-The book of Human Language..and bought it at the same time with Pete Rock & CL Smooth’s single “Reminisce Over You”.

Self reflection and evolution with a lover’s sensitive twist.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Cece: www.cececarpio.com

Leave a Reply

