Deadeyes: Graff Writer

Deadeyes

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Deadeyes: Yeah, I was born and raised in the East Bay… Third Generation. I grew up in Hayward and have been in Oakland for the past 11 years.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Deadeyes: Specifically the street art… 15 – 16 years…But I also have other creative outlets. I used to play the sax from elementary school to high school and have been writing, designing and doing videos since high school. My earliest 2 dimensional pieces were based of the cut paste zines I was making in highschool…

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Deadeyes: Besides the influences I grew up in because of my family and my environment… hip-hop, jazz, blues, reggae, fusion, and new wave.  I’ve had a strong interest in counter cultures from the 60’s on. Besides the music of these periods, I’ve been influenced by the art, film, writing and philosophies of various movements. Political posters, flyers, rock posters, murals, independent comic books and anything that rubs against the grain of sheep mentality.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Deadeyes: Oh Man… Eric B and Rakim.. Follow the Leader.  and Marrs.. Pump up the Volume…

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Deadeyes: i roll like galactus… i absorb planets.. keep the good.. discard the bad… defined by my own light…. and only responsible to GOD

Leave a Reply

