Sean McMahon: Dancer, Choreographer

1934262_1244479431405_6188297_npeck peck dance ensemble

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Sean: I am originally from Salt Lake City but have been living in the Bay Area since 2000.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Sean: I began choreographing by demanding my sister and her friends to perform my choreography when about 7 or 8. Formal training in dance began in middle school. Went to Ohio University to study dance, specifically choreography. Performed and produced dance in the Bay Area until about 2009. Been on hiatus since then…

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Sean: Inspiration comes from everywhere. Artwork by Yoshotoma Nara, readings into psychological topics, my own writing. Right now I am feeling like I need to choreograph something about Bert and Ernie from sesame street getting a divorce http://videogum.com/351531/you-can-make-it-up-bert-and-ernie-get-divorced/franchises/you-can-make-it-up/

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Sean: I have never purchased any vinyl! I remember my mom playing the eurythmics from vinyl, and my sister had a record that sang the “me and my teddy bear” song…

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Sean:  I am on hiatus from dance right now so that I can spend my money on me, and save it. I became very frustrated that in order to produce dance I needed to martyr my life to dance… i.e. spend all my money on dance, and never have anything left for insurance, etc… I keep thinking I will eventually return to choreographing, but honestly just can’t stomach spending money on renting space, when that money should go to debt… I was also looking around at other dancers, mentors, those that where older, and seeing that they weren’t any better off than I was. Had to make an intellectual decision. My heart is still with choregraphing/dancing/teaching but my brain had to make a different decision… and since I am on a rant, I am also very frustrated with the SF Dance Scene…

Leave a Reply

