Jack Eastgate: Muralist

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Jack: No, I was Born in Fiji. I moved straight to Oakland when I was 18 and seven years later I’m still here because I have family out here and I have mad Love for Oakland.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Jack: I’ve always drawn as a kid, and Fiji is a great place for the imagination to flourish. Back in the day though, art as a subject was not a part of the curriculum in public schools, and it was only until I finished up my last two years of High school at a Private school did I receive my first formal art class. I was hooked. I wanted to be an artist. My old man wasn’t so impressed, but I had made up my mind at that point.

I graduated and worked the family farm, but there was a longing for an adventure. An opportunity arose and I came to America. I dabbled here and there, and went to school for graphic design, but it was when I was introduced to live painting, my whole word changed. It was a rush I’d never felt before, having to create on the spot while getting lost in the canvas. The first time I tried it I painted from 6 pm till 5 am the next morning- it was then that the concept of the moment, living in the now solidified. Capturing the moment, the vibe- a beautiful thing happens when good music, people dancing, smiling, being in a communal space and understanding that love and life move mountains, this happens a lot here in Oakland.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Jack: People, music, dancing, life and love.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Jack: De La Soul, AOI: Bionix

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Jack: “no worries”

Leave a Reply

