Juan De La Rosa: Dancer, Educator

10617569_10204518532022601_1145258206_n

photo by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Juan: I was born in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico. Moved to LA in 96 and SF in August of 01… 10 years later, I feel pretty native : )

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Juan: I have always wanted to be a performance artist, I’d put on shows for my relatives as a kid in Mexico. When I moved to SF for college, I told my mother that I would be studying Psychology with a Theatre Arts minor. A week after I moved it was a Theatre Arts major with a Psychology minor. A semester later Psychology was dropped for Dance and by the time I graduated I was a double major in Dance and Theatre. Being in a studio gave me such a grounding feeling, I just couldn’t ignore that.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Juan: I dream a lot of my choreography. Sometimes it’s snippets and other time it’s full on pieces. I’ve only been able to use snippets while working with other companies, but I hope to some day develop some of these crazy dreams into a full length show. Other times movement comes to me when I’m sitting still, on the bus listening to music, and more often than not, in the shower.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Juan: I run the risk of being banned from existing by saying this, but I’ve never purchased a vinyl. By the time I was able to purchase music, I couldn’t afford a record player so I bought cassette tapes. Growing up tho, my favorite record to listen to at my grandmother’s house was the latin artist Amanda Miguel.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Juan: I once saw Keith Hennesey perform a solo show called “Chosen.” In it he said “people ask me why I choose to be an artist. I’m not choosing, why would I choose to be poor and struggle to pay rent… I was chosen to be an artist.” That moment really changed my young artist mind.

Leave a Reply

