Doc Loc: Legendary BBoy, Educator

305280_2163058729583_6445383_n

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Doc: I came to the San Francisco Bay Area as a youngun back when I was in third grade. Would have to be around 1968. Had lived in New Orleans prior and was all over even before then. My birth town is in Texas, can you believe it? Been a Bay kat ever since from SF to Concord and back. In my early years, I grew up in the harder parts of The Mission (La Mission)

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Doc: Ever since I was young I always wanted to do all kinds of creative things whether it was drawing, sculpting, filmmaking, animations. Was such a science fiction buff and Japanese super hero/monster fanatic. Then, as a teen, I discovered DANCE. STREET DANCE with Locking and Strutting (what we called Popping back in the day). Though I may have ‘slowed down’ over the years prior to my “comeback,” I never lost the love for these dances. These days, I can’t control myself and get down every little chance I get.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Doc: Nowadays, watching the younger generation CONTINUE and FLOURISH with the dance styles I grew up with. Back in those early years I found it from the very folks I ended up “cutting up” (battling) with. Learned the hard way, through some humiliation. But that was the only way to really learn back then. We had NO videos, NO youtube, NO one to “teach” us. Was all trial and error and just coming up with as much creative moves as possible. Studied what it was that made one LOSE and improved with more practice so when you came back for a rematch, you’d be ready. The other most important inspiration was the MUSIC we danced to. Without that, we would never have made our bodies match to the beats.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Doc: Haha this one is a tough one since I was always into music. Before my dancing days, I would buy movie soundtracks. Star Wars, Japanese super hero show theme music. That kind of thing. Then I got into the whole Soul, Funk, Disco, get yo bootie down era. 🙂

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Doc: Would just like to express my appreciation to the new generation for believing in the amazing dance styles we share. I never dreamed it would have still survived to this day. It only confirms the magic I knew it held. Thanks too much!!

“Can find more on DocLock through the Groovmekanex FB group page or http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Groovmekanex/121506111894 or http://www.groovmekanex.com

Leave a Reply

