Sandrine Malary: Dancer, owner of Alouba

1607119_10206999126355909_1315251571487932227_nphoto by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Sandrine: I’m not a native. Originally from Ayiti (Haiti). I moved here in 1998.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Sandrine: I’ve always been creative & crafty. College allowed me freedom to experiment more. Full artistic freedom came with my move here post-college.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Sandrine: For most fine art, home inspires me. The metal work and the Vodou culture/symbolism impact my visions greatly. Also the form of the medium must speak to me before I can create with it. Usually the item itself dictates how it will get manipulated into something else. I look at trash like cork or bottle caps and ponder. Then it strikes like lightening and I get the message loud & clear or sometimes a bit fuzzy. I receive it nonetheless.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Sandrine: I have 2 older sisters that bought vinyl… I just got them passed down. I recall lots of Michael Jackson.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Sandrine: I just want folks to think about the packaging of the stuff they buy and where it will go when they are done with it. We are creating way too much waste for artists like me to creatively reuse. We are trying to not just spare the world of current waste, but to reduce our consumption even more! No more styrofoam dishes for events folks! Please stop it, we all know better now, so let’s act like we know…

Leave a Reply

