Justin Warren: Photographer, Educator

319665_10150208270389567_3317403_n

photo by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Justin: Yes — born and raised in Oakland. My family goes back 6 generations in Oakland and in the Bay Area (my daughter makes 7!)

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Justin: I’m not sure what creative path I’m currently on! lol I think I’ve always valued strong visuals, interesting stories, and social interaction… My photography path started at 3 (see attached) and picked up a lot during college. As an educator, my creativity focuses on enhancing my students’ creativity, and devising clever ways to amplify their voices. I got involved in digital marketing strategy more recently because it ties so many different creative disciplines together within every project.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Justin: I’m constantly inspired be countless sources, interpersonal, print, online… But I think my best inspiration comes from continuing to ask ‘what if…’ and seeing where that leads.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Justin: My earliest music purchases (of my own) were cassettes. The first vinyl I owned was a gift — Pass The Dutchie by Musical Youth (45 single) in maybe 1982.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Justin: My daughter once used the word ‘abecyupe’ in a perfect sentence. I asked her what that was, and she told me ‘an abecyupe is something from your imagination,’ as if that clarified everything. I love her for reminding me that anything is possible, and everything can be reinvented.

http://jsight.com

facebook.com/jsight

bit.ly/jsight

Leave a Reply

