Kiki Poe: Artist, Activist, Goddess

photo by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Kiki: I was born at Alta Bates like so many others and moved to Modesto when I was 7. Most of my family stayed in Oakland and I’ve been back and forth until relocating again in 1997.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Kiki: I’ve been acting and creating stories since I was a child, maybe to escape some harsh realities. I’ve also always fought for others, even when I was a kid I always stood up to the bullies. Now I’ve merged those two ideals and I use my creativity to stop running from reality but to tell the stories of those who are still being bullied by society.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Kiki: The People, Life. There’s always so much happening around us and I try to tap into that starting with myself. I tell my own stories and hope through my own vulnerability People will allow me to tell theirs. Its so amazing when people trust you life that.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Kiki: Tina Turner, Private Dancer! She was always a stunning powerhouse and her legs on that cover…. timeless!

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Kiki: I’ve been super encouraged by the beautiful people in my cypher and I try to share my own encouragement with them. Daily life is a struggle but this moment of life is precious. These words from my mentor in faith, Daisaku Ikeda, help me stay on my path of activism. “We must Live powerfully, Stand Up powerfully and Fight powerfully.”

3 thoughts on “Kiki Poe: Artist, Activist, Goddess

  1. Thank you Malia for adding me to your selection of interviewees. In this brief moment I feel that you’ve shared apart of my spirit to your people and I’m thankful.

Leave a Reply

