Christine Fetterhoff: Dancer, Graphic Designer, member of Malia Movement Co

photo by Oni Connor…

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay?  Christine: I’m originally from northwest Indiana. I moved to San Francisco in 2005. I feel like I belong out here. And I look like I belong.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Christine: I’ve always been interested in the arts – visual and performing. I started dancing when I was 3 (at Wat Dhammaram, the Thai Buddhist temple outside of Chicago), and I was getting praise from my kindergarten teachers for my art projects. It wasn’t until I was in college that I realized I could make a career out of visual art through design.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Christine: Everywhere. Aside from the obvious sources of inspiration (music, art, media, sunsets, emotions), I am also inspired by people and random occurrences – the way the shadow of a fence hits the pavement, the fidgety movement of someone on BART, a color scheme I had in a dream… I find it hard to not be inspired and affected by everything around me.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Christine: My first cassette tape was Michael Jackson. “Dangerous”. I had some hand me down vinyl from my parents. A wide range including Van Halen and Debbie Gibson.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Christine: It’s a well-known quote, and I’ve always liked it, but the older I get, the more it rings true and the more I love it:

“To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty, to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.”

Leave a Reply

