Jean Melesaine: Photographer Activist

photo by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Jean: I’m a true Baydestrian. Born and raised on all major sides. When my parents came from Samoa on separate occasions my dad settled in Oakland and my mom in Frisco, and they met in Sunnydale projects at some cricket game. After that they moved around Cali looking for a spot to raise their kids and they had my brothers and sisters in San Jose after not liking L.A. So I was born in San Jo (East Side), raised in San Francisco (Hunter’s Point), and my adult life is all East Bay. But for real, for real….Im really on all sides almost everyday!! For real, I can show you my transfers. I love the Bay.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Jean: I think we’re all born on a creative path, but we either accept it or we reject it. Sometimes people accept it late… Like me. Even though I did things throughout my life that kind of stemmed up to who I’ve become, in order for me to take my “creative” path seriously, I had to go through hella bullshit. And Im grateful, it was worth it.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Jean: I find my inspiration in people I meet on the daily or in my past.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Jean: The first piece of vinyl I ever bought was the “The Doveshack” single Summertime in the LBC. I must’ve been 9 or 10. I didn’t really buy music… I used to record off the radio on cassettes lol

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Jean: Shoutout to Malia Connor, Silicon Valley DeBug, One Love Oceania, and all the Bay Area folks keeping it one hunnit and one errr-day in the yay.=)=)

http://www.gmelesaine.blogspot.com/

One thought on “Jean Melesaine: Photographer Activist

  1. Thanks so much for providing individuals with such a memorable opportunity to read from this blog. It is always very enjoyable plus packed with amusement for me personally and my office colleagues to search your web site at least 3 times per week to study the latest guidance you have. And of course, I am just usually fascinated with your superb opinions you serve. Selected 4 ideas in this article are in reality the finest we have had.

Leave a Reply

