Dazier Grego: spoken word Artist

10499617_10204243707752166_4351875228444327613_oOni & Daz by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Daz: Although I have always considered the Bay to be home I am not actually a native. I was born in Pittsburgh Pennsylvania. My family didn’t move here until I was 4. Still I can’t imagine growing up or living anywhere else.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Daz: I can’t remember a time I wasn’t creating but the first time I wrote a poem I was 12 years old, I called it Picking My Toes On A Monday Night which later became the title of my first collection of poetry and essays.

Q#3:Where do you find your inspiration? Daz: I have always felt more like inspiration finds me. This is probably the trickiest thing about creating art, I can’t simply look at the sunset and feel inspired. Instead something has to really reach in and move me. I have never understood what the source of that “thing” is. I have always thought that it is something having to with Spirit.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Daz: The first record I bought, that’s a hard one. My mother was a music lover and every time she went to buy a record I was allowed to pick out a 45. The first actual album was The Jets…”you found out, I got a crush on you.”

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Daz: “I am not to be had for the price of a cocktail like some sort of salted peanut” Betty Davis – All About Eve

Leave a Reply

