Maritez Apigo aka DJZita: Teacher and member of Malia Movement Co

Zitaphoto by Tuffgyal808

Q#1:Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Zita: I’m an LA native until 1997, then I moved to SF. I lived in Honolulu, Hawaii from 2002 to 2004, came back to SF, and then made Oakland my home since 2006.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Zita: As a child, I always loved music… playing records on my Fisher Price turntable, dancing since I could walk, recording songs from the radio onto cassette, making mixtapes for my friends, building up a cassette tape collection, and then later a CD collection. I was a gymnast and ice skater as a child, then began formal dance training as an adult. I started teaching English in 1998, first in middle and high schools and now in community colleges. DJing began for me in 1999 when I bought my first pair of Technics turntables and mixer and started digging for vinyl records.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Zita: The many forms of love, the ocean, in music, from dreams, my students, my role models, and my kids inspire me.

Q#4:What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Zita: It’s hard to say because my first pieces of vinyl when I was a kid either belonged to my parents or were given to me. I have fond memories of playing these records on repeat: Stevie Wonder’s Songs in the Key of Life, Michael Jackson’s Thriller, Salt n Pepa’s Hot, Cool and Vicious, and Queen Latifah’s All Hail the Queen.

Q#5:Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Zita: One of my favorite quotes is by Jedi Master Yoda, “Do, or do not. There is no ‘try’”.

http://djzita.com/

2 thoughts on “Maritez Apigo aka DJZita: Teacher and member of Malia Movement Co

Leave a Reply

