Ajuana Black: Vocalist, Goddess, Mother

Ajuana

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay?
Ajuana: I am a Bay Area Native. I was born in Daly City. I lived in Hunters Point until I was 2 1/2yrs. My mom decided to move me to Oakland when she was ready to buy a house.  You see she adopted me a week or so before I turned 2. She wanted to get meinto a stable house…..East Oakland is where I was raised.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on?
Ajuana: Wow…….. I was 4 years old whenI found the language of theatre around the same time I found out I was adopted.  I have been theatre and performing my whole life.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration?
Ajuana: I find inspiration in the “actual moment” literally……..So much to see, feel and think…..I will never live a day in my life being uninspired or bored:) I am also a mama of 4!!!!!!!! They are my true inspiration!

My inspiration for Mama Earth Vibes….my publication and radio show that celebrates mamahood and the village….comes from me being adopted. I am still in search for my birth mama….I am still in search for her story and what happen truely…..Interviewing other mamas about their story as well as fathers soothes my passion around Mama Earth Vibes…….The love I received from my mama who is 87 years old and how she help me locate some of my birth family inspires me to push Mama Earth Vibes as well.

My inspiration for teaching 8 girls in my home school……I know comes from Mary McCloud Bethune. ……she was my first “idol” when I was 10 years old. This Sista was a gifted educator. She attempted to get teaching jobs. The white schools would not hire her. She said, “f—- it!” I will take $1.50 and purchase
some land and build my own school for girls. That’s exactly what she did…….this is around the time of the Booker T. Washington days.  My mom gave me  a book about her when I was ten years old. She was always someone who inspired me.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased?
Ajuana: Geezzzzzz…..I’m not sure…..when I was a kid I use to go in my brother’s room. He was a dj and he had vinyl records from the floor to the ceiling! I use to get lost pulling out
records out and listening to them……The one artist I would listen to the most was Angela Bofil!

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote?
Ajuana: I just feel emotionally grateful for my life. I am grateful for the tiniest thing that shows up in my life and becomes such a blessing. I am grateful for the reflections of the human spirit…….like Malia…..who told me a long time ago to love my body…..I don’t even know if you remember that…..but I was struggling with accepting my skin and the eczema on it…..it was soon after you had Oni…….and you had told me….”Oh it’s a must…..you gotta love your body!” ……….I am very grateful for that seedling being planted within me to love my body!…thank you Malia!!

Leave a Reply

