Mariafatima Urbi: Visual Artist

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Mariafatima: I emigrated to US when I was 10, moved around alot but I grew up in SF.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Mariafatima: I’ve been drawing most of my life, but professionally pursued it about 10 years ago.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Mariafatima: I’m very visual person so I like to people watch…creativity and innovation drives to inspire me, as well as traveling.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Mariafatima: Beastie Boys “license to ill” album.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Mariafatima: I love this quote by Audre Lorde and it sums up who I am… “if i didn’t define myself for myself i would be crunched into other people’s fantasies of me and eaten alive…”

Leave a Reply

