Sandor Moss: Drummer, Surfer

photo by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Sandor: Born and raised with surfing@ Kelly’s cove, going to public school and a 2~14 49er team!! Or was it 1~15? Grandma’s house on Capp Street in the Mission with her 18 inch round tortillas every Sunday!!! (no lie!) AND my dad dragging the family down to Shenson’s Deli to get our Kosher on!!! hell yes, I have been spoiled!!!

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Sandor: My creative path started @ 11 yrs old. I saw my cousin playing drums in a rock band back in ’82 and that was it. I knew I wanted to be a drummer. My first drum set came the very next year. This path has led me to some incredible places in the world and to some of the finest people one can come into contact with. It has also led me to believe that art, music and performance is about healing. It’s really something when you can enter someone’s mind and non-verbally influence them within… literally within minutes, and by the end of the story, you’ve made a new friend. This path has no end. You just keep shedding layers and layers trying to reach the truth and come closer to it. You know you’re getting closer when the faces of the people radiate love. LOVE IS THE KEY!!!

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Sandor: My inspiration comes from sincerely beautiful folk such as yourself, Malia Connor. When I first met you, you were on such a mission… with a” take no prisoners” attitude. There was more creativity coming out of you than one can shake a stick at!! After so much time has passed, you haven’t changed a bit!! ON FIRE!! That’s what constitutes inspiration for me.
Surfing has a been everything, too. Yemaya. The natural connection has always been there. Another mama’s boy, that’s for sure!! ha. Exercise and being active are crucial to keep creativity flowing. Surfing in another country is where it’s at!! Cuba, Nicaragua, Israel. take a pick!!

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Sandor: My 1st piece of vinyl actually may have been a cassette. I do seem to remember buying ”OFF THE WALL”” by Michael Jackson. Trying to imitate those moves on TV!!!
My dad was always blasting Celia Cruz for hours then he would switch gears and listen to OPERA. My mom always liked Patsy Cline and Elvis (remember she’s Nicoya). By the time I was buying records, I knew what I liked but not what was hip! quite different now!!

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Sandor: sorry that it took so long to get back to you… Besos.

3 thoughts on “Sandor Moss: Drummer, Surfer

  1. nice interview.. I had the pleasure of sharing the stage wiht Sandor a couple of times.. crazy cat.. yo tambien soy de nicaragua.. we had lots of fun

Leave a Reply

