Erin Yoshi: Muralist, Activist

12440440_10208591233917603_2821432299639177220_o

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Yoshi: I am a L.A. native but I have lived in the Bay for 12 years.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Yoshi: I started taking my creative path seriously in about 2002. My mom was an artist and she taught me to draw, paint and shoot photography when I was a kid. We used to make comic scrolls, make up a story and illustrate them. I used to get into trouble as a kid, because I drew on the walls in my room, so my pops lined one wall in my room with huge erasable boards. I used to stand on my desk chair to reach the high parts I couldn’t touch. I still drew on the furniture…

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration?
Yoshi: I find my inspiration from life, nature, creative weirdoes and comrades, and from stories of resilience, struggle and victories.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Yoshi: The first piece of Vinyl I ever purchased was Thriller. I used to practice moonwalking in my room. But the first piece of vinyl I remember playing with was the Little Old Lady (from Pasadena) by Jan and Dean. It was a 45 and I would play it on my hand-me down plastic briefcase turntable… I think it was the only record I had at that time…

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Yoshi: Why is it, as Tom Goldtooth of the Indigenous Environmental Network has said, “So much easier to imagine the end of the world than the end of capitalism?” (Big thanks to Movement Generations for sharing this gem with me.)

http://www.erinyoshi.com

Leave a Reply

