Crayone: Graff Writer

photo by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Crayone: I was born in NYC and was raised in Korea till I was 7. I moved to SF and I’ve been living there ever since. I lived in the East Bay for about 10 years from 1998 to 2008.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Crayone: I started by break dancing and one of the early SF writers by the name of Fury brought in a sketch that said “Omega” in graffiti style on paper and said, “This what they do in NY”… woooooowwwwww! I think I might have been 16, and I was sprung!

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Crayone: Sometimes its walking in comic book stores, or book stores looking at a collection of art books. Now I get it from my life. I get it from hearing from people with my open ears. I see. I look around. The human struggles are still continuing… so picking a content is my next biggest challenge.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Crayone: I think it was either rappers delight or Kurtis Blow’s “These are the breaks”… it was a 45. My sister and I remembered the whole damn rap! haha.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Crayone: Art is for life. you might take a break trying to get that living status under control but whenever you can you try to express yourself through music, dance and art. And always record your process, because your never gonna know if you ever get famous cause they will want a detailed documentation of your experiences.

http://www.crayone.com/

Leave a Reply

