Miguel “Bounce” Perez: Muralist

“Peace”  by TuffGyal 808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay?

Miguel: Born and raised in Berkeley. Moved to Brooklyn, NY in 98. Did some bicoastal vagabonding. Spent some time in Guadalajara, Mexico and Los Angeles. I’m half way sorta semi-permanently back in Berkeley now…

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on?

Miguel: I start a new creative path everyday.
But more specifically, I’ve been doing art full-time for a living since about 2005 and I’ve been running Pueblo Nuevo Gallery with my boy Plinio Hernandez since 2007.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration?

Miguel: I have no bias when looking for inspiration… I find it everywhere.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased?

Miguel: I think it was some underground hip hop from the early 90’s that I would never listen to now.  I started buying vinyl mostly in the dollar section at Amoeba: lots of Sade, Roger and Zapp type stuff. The first CD I bought with my own money was “2pacalypse Now”.  I also remember my mom buying me AMG’s “bitch betta have my money”.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote?

Miguel: my boy Brian’s grandmother would tell him… “if you get bored, that means you’re stupid.” words to live by.

and check out the flickr account for pueblo nuevo. I got hundred of galleries to put up… http://www.flickr.com/photos/pueblonuevo/sets/

http://tys.mvmt.com/(the collective)

Leave a Reply

