Robert Trujillo: Artist, Writer, Father

photo by Tuffgyal808

Q#1: Are you a Bay Area Native? and if not, how long have you lived in the Bay? Robert: I’m from the Bay Area, born and raised in Oakland, but I’ve lived all across the East Bay, and had a whole lot of family in SF. My momma and my uncles/aunties grew up there. My dad’s from LA tho.

Q#2: When did you start on the creative path you are currently on? Robert: I’ve been drawing since I was a little one. I started getting obsessed with painting and drawing Graffiti Letters/Characters around the early 90’s and kept doing that until I graduated from High School. My momma actually bought me “Spray Can Art” when I was a kid. Then, I went through a period of experimentation with new mediums, styles around the late 90’s, early 2000’s. I started doing things as a member of Trust Your Struggle in 2003. Been rocking with those lovely people since then. I call myself a baby Muralist now cause I’m still learning. I’m now also an illustrator as well-working on my first children’s book, and my first Comic Book.

Q#3: Where do you find your inspiration? Robert: I find a lot of inspiration in the social justice movement. The work organizers do, the campaigns they lead. I study a lot of political movements, tactics, etc. I love music, so I often listen to, look for, and cherish good music of any genre. I look to a lot of Comic Book, Concept Artists lately. Lots of Blogs about Design, Fashion, Culture, Art. I like to read too! Octavia Butler and Paulo Coehlo give me lots of imagery to think about. But biggest of all is my family! Without their encouragement, support, and kicks in the butt, I wouldn’t be a professional artist.

Q#4: What was the first piece of vinyl you ever purchased? Robert: Vinyl? Wow, they’re gonna know how old I am now! Uh, it’s a toss-up between “The Nonce-Bus Stops (LA)” and “Liquid Swords-The GZA (NY)”.

Q#5: Anything else you’d like to share? a joke/quote? Robert: Um, do “you”! If you paint, draw, sing, dance, speak, write what you really feel. you will be surprised at how many other people feel the same way across borders nationally and internationally. No fakers please! What else? Promote yourself! Don’t be scared to let em know “who u are”. If you let someone else define you, they’ll probably miss spell your name or something.
Peace, love, and light to all the dreamers out there! It’s just begun!

http://investigateconversateillustrate.blogspot.com/

http://tys.mvmt.com/

Leave a Reply

